top of page
Search
  • jeremydortch

Justice Rising

When I first looked at this project, I thought Freedom and Justice were values most important to me, but I realize now Education leads to Freedom and justice. Without Education, Freedom and Justice can not be understood or obtained. To start today off, we looked up non-profits through Guide Star, a NGO search engine. I initially searched by keywords ‘justice’ and ‘freedom’, and found a cause I strongly identify with: building schools for children in the war-torn DRC.

“Justice Rising builds schools in nations of conflict to decrease the effects of war on children and youth and raise up a generation of problem solving, critical thinking leaders”. I have researched heavily into Africa’s struggles, all left over form colonization, and it has always been my position that education will have the largest impact out of the UN’s Millennium Developmental Goals (MDGs).

The goal was to achieve these eight MDGs by 2015. While child mortality and extreme poverty and hunger have both decreased, none of the goals are anywhere near their target. Education is the first step to all of the other goals, as the youth is the root of a culture. Give the root nutrients, and the plant will grow. Grow to combat child slavery, war, HIV, poverty and hunger, and most of all, produce hope.

Check out their website - see how you can help!

http://www.justicerising.org/our-story/


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The next Term

Last term, I was overwhelmed by applying to colleges and AP classes, as well as the guided IBs and graduation requirements so I did not complete everything I wanted to. This term, I want to make more

How Can We Help?

A new project was recently introduced in Mosaic, and again, this one promises to make a difference. In my life, I have always valued Freedom and Justice, along with a strong work ethic. Freshman year,

What is Mosaic?

What is Mosaic? It’s a question that us students that have been in the program for three years still have trouble answering, not because it’s too difficult, not because we don’t know what we do, but I

bottom of page